Join our Law Notes WhatsApp Group and stay updated with Legal and Judicial Updates

Legal System of Tanzania

Jump to:navigation, search
HomeBrud.gifLegal System of Tanzania

Law of Tanzania

Constitution Tanzania

The Constitution Tanzania was ratified in 1977. Earlier to that, the country had three constitutions at different period of time: the Independence Constitution (1961), the Republican Constitution (1962), and the Interim Constitution of the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar (1964).

Judiciary in Tanzania

The country has a five-level judiciary combining the jurisdictions of tribal, Islamic, and British common law.

The Court of Appeal of Tanzania is the highest court of justice in the country. The judges of the court are appointed by the President. Judges of other junior courts are appointed by the Chief Justice.

Related Topics